Trinity College Dublin


The School of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences in Trinity College Dublin (TCD), the University of Dublin, was established in 1977 and is the oldest academic pharmaceutical institution in Ireland. The School of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences delivers a single undergraduate programme – the B.Sc. (Pharmacy) degree. The School aims, through the B.Sc. (Pharmacy) undergraduate programme, to produce pharmacy graduates who will enhance health care through their patient-oriented understanding of aspects of disease, health strategies, medicines and pharmacoeconomics of existing and new therapies. The Pharmacy undergraduate syllabus leading to a B.Sc. (Pharm) degree is taught over four years and satisfies the requirements of the Pharmaceutical Society of Ireland, i.e. the statutory registration body. It also complies with the training standards defined in three pharmaceutically relevant EU Directives –2005/36/EC as amended, 2001/82/EC as amended and 2001/83/EC as amended.

The academic staff of the School (20 full-time equivalents) provide courses and research facilities for approximately 330 students per year (undergraduates B.Sc. (Pharm) and postgraduate research). The Pharmaceutical Sciences and Practice of Pharmacy subject areas are currently taught on the undergraduate curriculum by part- and full-time academic staff, in conjunction with Teacher-Practitioners and a number of external lecturers from Community Pharmacy, Hospital Pharmacy, the Pharmaceutical Industry and Regulatory Bodies.

In addition, staff contribute to 5 postgraduate taught full-time, part-time and distance-learning M.Sc/Diploma courses which are formulated in the context of European and international curriculum strategies (M.Sc./P.Grad.Dip. in Pharmaceutical Analysis, M.Sc. in Hospital Pharmacy, M.Sc./P.Grad.Dip. in Community Pharmacy, M.Sc./P.Grad.Dip. in Pharmaceutical Manufacturing Technology, M.Sc. in Neuroscience, M.Sc. in Sports and Exercise Medicine).

Associated Staff
Professor Anne Marie Healy
Professor Owen I. Corrigan
Associate Professor Carsten Ehrhardt
Associate Professor Martin Henman
Assistant Professor Deirdre D’Arcy
Assistant Professor Lidia Tajber